The United Kingdom Parliament

Group on Scientific Research into
Myalgic Encephalomyelitis (ME)


& Hearings
Report News


From the House of Commons -

Dr Ian Gibson  (Labour MP for Norwich North)


Was Chair of the Commons Select Committee on Science and Technology until the General Election last year, announced the independent inquiry in December, following discussion with constituents.  His background is in academic scientific research; he was Dean of the School of Biological Sciences at the University of East Anglia for many years.

Dr Richard Taylor  (Independent MP for Wyre Forest)


A GP by profession, was elected to Parliament at the 2001 General Election after campaigning about the state of the hospital service in Kidderminster.

Rt Hon Michael Meacher  (Labour MP for Oldham West and Royton)

A highly experienced former Government Minister, was Minister of State for the Environment for five years until June 2003.

David Taylor  (Labour/Co-op MP for North West Leicestershire)

Mr Taylor launched the Commons Early Day Motion 260 in July last year.  This motion - calling on the government to spend more on scientific research into ME - has attracted 217 signatures so far.

Dr Des Turner  (Labour MP for Brighton Kemptown)

The new chairman of the All Party Parliamentary Group on ME, taking over the office from Tony Wright, MP for Great Yarmouth, last year.  He has a background in scientific research.

From the House of Lords -

Lord Turnberg  (Labour)

As President of the Royal College of Physicians, co-wrote the preface to the 1996 Royal Colleges Report on ME/Chronic Fatigue Syndrome.

Baroness Cumberlege  (Conservative)

Was a Conservative Health Minister at the time of the launch of the CMO's Report into ME/CFS in 2002.

The Countess of Mar  (Crossbench)

A farmer, became ill after exposure to organo-phosphates in sheep dip.  She regularly campaigns on ME issues in the House of Lords.

Ann Cryer (Labour MP for Keighley) resigned from the Group on 27 November 2006.